Essential Oils

I have become a huge fan of essential oils; they are the essence that is extracted from various plants.  Here is a list of some of the essential oils and the properties they have:

  • Cinnamon – antiseptic, said to stimulate the body and mind
  • Clove – antiseptic, repels ants
  • Lavender – antiseptic, antifungal, traditionally used to heal skin and clean cuts
  • Lemon – antibacterial, antiseptic, deodorizing
  • Lemongrass – antiseptic, repels insects
  • Lime – antibacterial, antifungal, antiseptic
  • Oregano – antibacterial, antifungal, antiseptic
  • Rosemary – antiseptic
  • Sweet Orange – disinfectant
  • Tea Tree – antiseptic, disinfectant, antifungal
  • Thyme – antiseptic, disinfectant, antibacterial, antimicrobial

As you can see, the possibilities for how we can use essential oils to replace chemicals in our homes is quite vast.

 Through my readings I have realized that I want to eliminate my use of chlorine bleach (to see why refer to the end of the post), but I wondered what I would do at the cottage to sanitize after winter (aka mouse season).  This year I can use water with a few drops of the essential oil of sweet orange, tea tree or thyme (or a combination). 

I am a huge lavender fan.  I have a row of it growing beside my driveway, and in June the girls and I always pick a few sprigs to bring in the van with us.  So thus far, I have  only purchased lavender essential oil, and I have found a few ways to use it. 

We have a bagless vacuum cleaner, and sometimes when we vacuum it smells like dirty feet.  This does not add to the clean feeling.  So when I cleaned out the filters, I added a few drops of lavender essential oil on the filter.  It worked great!  When I vacuumed, it created this beautiful relaxing lavender scent while I cleaned. 

When I am cleaning my toilet, I put a couple drops of the oil in the toilet bowl with the baking soda.  I have also added lavender essential oil into a bath, and into cleaning water.  There are many homemade cleaning recipes out there that utilize essential oils, and I am collecting and planning to try out a number of them.

I really think essential oils are amazing because they are just the essence from a plant and nothing else, they have great cleaning properties, and they smell fabulous!

 

Why I want to eliminate my use of chlorine bleach:

Some of the direct hazards are it is extremely corrosive, it burns your skin, it is absorbed through your skin, it is a poison, it bioaccumulates (accumulates in fatty tissue and doesn’t leave), it is a respiratory irritant that viciously attacks mucous membranes, it is an indoor air pollutant, and it is dangerously reactive with organic matter (it can cause low-grade toxic reactions with dirt).

Some of the indirect hazards are it is reactive (causes dangerous reactions in the environment), it ends up in our food because it accumulates and travels up the food chain, and it causes serious health effects (linked with reproductive disorders, birth defects, developmental impairment, cancer, etc).

Published in: on February 26, 2009 at 2:13 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bonnie2009.wordpress.com/2009/02/26/essential-oils/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Bonnie, I tried the vacuum filter trick… it works so well, and so quickly!! I had washed and dried my filter in the sun, and it still smelled like “people”, and I put aobut 5-6 drops of grapefruit oil on it, within moments the stinky person smell was gone, lol!!

    Thanks for the tips :)


Leave a Reply

